Tag Archives: Game

Dec. 8, 1940 – Bears beat the Redskins, 73-0, in the 8th NFL Championship Game


The game was played at Griffith Stadium in Washington, D.C., and broadcasted on radio by Mutual Broadcasting System, the first NFL title game broadcast nationwide. The Chicago Bears defeated the Washington Redskins, 73–0, the most one-sided victory in NFL history.

The Redskins had beat the Bears 7–3 in a regular season game three weeks earlier. After the contest, Redskins owner George Preston Marshall told reporters that the Bears were “quitters” and “cry babies” when the going got tough. As the Bears prepared for the rematch, Chicago head coach George Halas fired up his team by showing them newspaper articles of Marshall’s comments.

Less than a minute into the game, the Bears’ running back Bill Osmanski ran 68 yards to score the first touchdown. After the Redskins narrowly missed an opportunity to tie the game, the Bears clamped down and began to dominate, leaving the field at halftime with a 28-0 lead. Things only got worse for the Redskins, and by the end of the second half officials were asking Halas not to let his team kick for extra points, as they were running out of footballs after too many had been kicked into the stands.

The Bears followed their history-making win with two more consecutive championships, including a game against the New York Giants just two weeks after Japan’s attack on Pearl Harbor. Many great football players were subsequently drafted into World War II, and Halas himself would leave in 1942 for a tour of duty in the Pacific. In 1946, after the war ended, Halas and a number of former players returned to the team, and the Bears won their fourth NFL Championship in seven years.


Nov. 4, 1988 – The Charlotte Hornets play their first game


The Charlotte Hornets, along with the Miami Heat, began play as expansion teams during the season. Led by ex-Pistons guard Kelly Tripucka, The Hornets finished the season with a record of 20 wins and 62 losses, and also led the NBA in attendance, becoming the first expansion team to do so.

The team’s roster was filled as a result of an expansion draft in 1988. In a coin flip, the Hornets earned the right to choose either the higher choice in the college draft or the first pick in the expansion draft, picking the former. Most teams use such drafts to pick young players and guarantee a future, but Charlotte chose veterans in order to get a competitive lineup right away.

They would play 14 seasons in Charlotte until moving to New Orleans. Overall, the franchise has made the playoffs in 12 of its 25 seasons coming into 2013-14, but has never made it past the Conference Semifinals.

Sept, 14, 2003 – Jamal Lewis set the then NFL record for yards gained in a single-game with 295

Jamal Lewis broke the previous record of 278 single-game rushing yards held by Corey Dillon and finished the game with two touchdowns as the Baltimore Ravens beat the Cleveland Browns 33-13. Lewis would go on to log 2,066 yards for the season, second most at the time. Lewis was rewarded by being named NFL Offensive Player of the Year by the Associated Press.

Lewis’s single-game rushing record was later broken by Adrian Peterson of the Minnesota Vikings on November 4, 2007, when he ran for 296 yards against the San Diego Chargers.

Top 10 NFL Single Game Rushing Yards Leaders:
1. Adrian Peterson: 296 – Vikings vs. Chargers, November 4, 2007 
2. Jamal Lewis: 295 – Ravens vs. Browns, September 14, 2003 
3. Jerome Harrison: 286 – Browns vs. Chiefs, December 20, 2009 
4. Corey Dillon: 278 – Bengals vs. Broncos, October 22, 2000 
5. Walter Payton: 275 – Bears vs. Vikings, November 20, 1977 
6. O.J. Simpson: 273 – Bills vs. Lions, November 25, 1976 
7. Shaun Alexander: 266 – Seahawks vs. Raiders, November 11, 2001 
8. Jamaal Charles: 259 – Chiefs vs. Broncos, January 3, 2010 
9. DeMarco Murray: 253 – Cowboys vs. Rams, October 23, 2011 
10. Mike Anderson: 251 – Broncos vs. Saints, December 3, 2000

Aug. 28, 1977 – Pelé played in his final non-exhibition game

Soccer legend Pelé played in his final non-exhibition game as The New York Cosmos defeated Seattle Sounders FC, 2-1, for the North American Soccer League championship.

The game was an offensive slugfest, with the teams combining for 55 shots (29 Cosmos, 26 Sounders). Although Pele did not score in the Cosmos’ 2-1 Soccer Bowl win over the Sounders, it was his day all the same. After the final whistle blew and the trophy was presented, it was Pele that the new champions hoisted onto their shoulders and carried off to the cheers of a standing-room crowd of 41,270 at Civic Stadium.

The win made the Cosmos the only two-time champions in NASL history. The team’s postseason run also helped rewrite the league’s postseason record book. Their eight goals against Fort Lauderdale on August 14 were an all-time NASL playoff high. The Cosmos hosted the largest playoff crowd in NASL history, 77,691 for the August 14 win over the Strikers, and have the largest combined postseason attendance in league history, at 212,410 over three games, and the largest average postseason attendance at 70,803.

May 9, 1984 – the Chicago White Sox and Milwaukee Brewers completed a 25-inning game, lasted 8 hrs 6 min


The longest American League game, and tied for the longest major league game by innings which ended with one team winning, was a 7-6 victory by the Chicago White Sox over the Milwaukee Brewers in 25 innings, at Comiskey Park in Chicago in 1984. The game began at 7:30 p.m. on the evening of May 8, and after scoring early runs both teams scored twice in the 8th inning; but the game was suspended after 17 innings with the score tied 3-3 due to a league rule prohibiting an inning from beginning after 12:59 a.m.

The game was continued the following evening, May 9, and both teams scored three times in the 21st inning to make the score 6-6; finally, in the bottom of the 25th, the White Sox’ Harold Baines hit a home run to end the contest. Tom Seaver was the winning pitcher in relief. (a regularly scheduled game followed, meaning both nights saw 17 innings played; Seaver also started, and won, the second game). The official time of the entire 25-inning game was 8 hours 6 minutes, also a major league record.